Media Role in Combating Corruption – Practical Training on Necessary Skills

Date: 22 Oct 2014
This advanced workshop is a completion of a previous one held by Social Contract Center (SCC) on August 18-19, 2014. It focuses more on the practical skills that enable media to detect and combat corruption through developing capacities of journalists and media professionals interested in addressing corruption issues.

  Intensive and advanced training focused on investigative journalism, Editorial standards, data and information processing, protection of witnesses and information sources…etc.

  Mrs. Safaa Faisal, the accredited trainer by BBC corporation, was invited by SCC to deliver training on: editorial corruption issues (accuracy, integrity, balance, fairness), editorial practices in corruption fighting, the objectives and prospects of respective organizations, audiences desires, sources of information on corruption crimes, corruption related  rules and laws, investigative journalism tools and its role in fighting corruption and journalistic interviews.
Councilor Mahmoud El-Kholy, SCC Director, asserted that supporting the state’s efforts in combating corruption is one of SCC work plan. He also emphasized that media professional’s capacity building programs come at the forefront of  SCC interests, given that media can play a greater role in detecting and combating corruption, especially when media professional is equipped with professional skills and ethical values. Councilor El-Kholy added that fight against corruption- such as fight against terrorism- necessitates concerted efforts in order to eradicate it.

  Dr. Yasmin Khodary threw the light on corruption phenomena defining it as an abuse of public authority or position to  gain personal benefits. She also referred to main types of corruption (such as bribes, favoritism and nepotism, misuse of time, influence abuse, money laundry) and main factors leading to corruption as lack of transparency, weak supervision due to lack of independence of authorities and authorities’ overlap, conflict of interest...etc.

  Dr. Khodary clarified also that there are two types of corruptions “ grand corruption” that is practiced by high ranking employees and “petty corruption” that is practiced by junior staff. Corruption can also be administrative, which takes place at government bodies, political, economic such as monopolies in stack exchange, and financial which encompasses three parties. Bribe provider, bribe recipient and the intermediator.

  In conclusion, Mrs. Safaa Faisal commented that although investigative journalism is a difficult and time consuming process, yet it greatly contributes to the alleviation of corruption phenomena.

Add Comment

Activites

Oversight Authorities: Jurisdictions Overlap and Authorities Engagement

14 April 2014

On April 14, 2014 The Social Contract Center (SCC) organized a round table seminar on &... more

Investigative Journalism and its Role in Corruption Fighting

20 October 2014

Acknowledging the important role of media in curbing corruption, the Social Contract Ce... more

Good governance in education-the role of civil society

16 September 2014

Good governance in education-the role of civil societymore

Conference legislative reforms to combat corruption .. community dialogue on the draft law on the right to information

09 September 2013

   نظم مركز العقد الاجتماعى التابع لمركز المعلومات ودعم اتخاذ القرار بمجلس ال... more

Workshop evaluation of private national expert body for the implementation of Egypt's review mechanism of the United Nations Convention against Corrup

30 July 2013

Workshop evaluation of private national expert body for the implementation of Egypt's ... more

Site Requires

دور الإعلام في مكافحة الفساد_ تدريب عملي على المهارات المطلوبة

التــاريخ: 22 أكتوبر 2014
تأتي هذه الورشة التدريبية المتقدمة استكمالا للورشة التدريبية التي عقدها المركز في 18 و19 أغسطس 2014، والتي طالب المشاركون في نهايتها بتنظيم برنامج آخر أكثر تقدما يركز على جوانب المهارات العملية، كما أكد المشاركون على ضرورة تنظيم المركز للمزيد من ورش العمل لأن السبيل الوحيد لقيام الإعلام بدوره في مجال الكشف عن الفساد ومكافحته هو رفع قدرات الصحفيين والإعلاميين المهتمين بتناول قضايا الفساد.

وقد استهدفت الورشة الصحفيين والإعلاميين المهتمين والمتخصصين بمجال مكافحة الفساد. كما هدفت إلى رفع وعيهم بمفهوم الفساد وأسبابة ونتائجه، وبدورهم التوعوي والتربوي والرقابي في مكافحة الفساد، وتدريبهم بشكل مكثف وعملي في مجال مكافحة الفساد وتزويدهم بالمهارات اللازمة للتعامل مع قضايا الفساد كمهارات الصحافة الاستقصائية، معايير التحرير الصحفي، كيفية التعامل مع البيانات والمعلومات، حماية الشهود والمصادر، إلخ ...

  وقد استقدم المركز لهذا الغرض الأستاذة صفاء فيصل المدربة المعتمدة لدى هيئة البي بي سي (BBC) البريطانية والتي قدمت تدريبات عملية على الموضوعات التالية: دور الإعلام كوسيلة لمكافحة الفساد ، المعايير التحريرية (كالدقة، الحيادية، التوازن، الإنصاف) عند التعامل مع قضايا الفساد، ممارسات التحرير الصحفي في مجال مكافحة الفساد، أهداف وتوقعات المنظمة التي تعمل بها، رغبات المشاهدون/المستمعون/القراء، مصادر المعلومات في جرائم الفساد، القواعد والقوانين المتعلقة بـالفساد والإعلام، الصحافة الاستقصائية وأدواتها ودورها في محاربة الفساد،  المقابلات الصحفية.

وقد أكد المستشار محمود الخولي، مدير مركز العقد الاجتماعي أن المركز ينتهج عدة سياسات ضمن خطة عمله لدعم جهود الدولة في مكافحة الفساد، وتأتي برامج بناء قدرات الإعلاميين على رأس اهتمامات المركز لإيمانه بأن الإعلام يمكنه أن يلعب دوراً  أكبر في صالح المجتمع في مجال الكشف عن الفساد ومكافحته، وخاصة إذا تسلح الإعلامي بالمهارات المهنية والأخلاقية التي تعينه على إنجاز مهامه بشكل أفضل، وأوضح أن الحرب ضد الفساد هي حرب أخرى تخوضها مصر إلى جانب الحرب ضد الارهاب، وتتطلب تتضافر كافة الجهود لإنجاحها.
وقد قامت الدكتورة ياسمين خضري بتعريف الحضور بظاهرة الفساد. حيث أشارت إلى أن الفساد يُعرف بأنه إساءة استخدام أو استغلال السلطة العامة أو المنصب العام لتحقيق مصلحة أو مكاسب خاصة.  وتُعد أهم صور الفساد "الرشوة - الوساطة والمحسوبية – إساءة استغلال وقت العمل - استغلال النفوذ - غسل الأموال، كما أن أهم أسباب الفساد تتحدد في نقص الشفافية والذي ينعكس في سرية البيانات وأيضًا ضعف الرقابة نتيجة عدم استقلالية الهيئات وأيضًا الجمع بين السلطات وعدم علاج مشكلة تضارب المصالح بشكل متكامل. وتنقسم أنواع الفساد على أساس المقابل إلى نوعين فساد "صغير" والذي يحدث في الغالب في فئة العاملين الصغار، والنوع الثاني "الفساد الكبير" والذي يحدث في فئة العاملين الأكبر. كما ينقسم الفساد وفقاً لنوع القطاع الذي يحدث فيه الفساد إلى 4 أشكال: فساد إداري والذي يحدث في القطاع الحكومي، وفساد سياسي، اقتصادي مثل "الاحتكارات والتلاعب في البورصة"، بالإضافة إلى الفساد المالي. ويتحدد أطراف عملية الفساد في 3 محاور "الراشي -المرتشي – الوسيط".

كما قامت الإعلامية صفاء فيصل المدرب المعتمد لدى هيئة بي بي سي (BBC) البريطانية بتقديم التدريب والذ تعرض إلى موضوعات عديدة مثل مبادئ التحرير الصحفي (كالدقة، الحيادية، التوازن، الإنصاف) عند التعامل مع قضايا الفساد، وأدوات الصحافة الاستقصائية، والتعامل مع الوثائق والبيانات، وحماية مصادر المعلومات، وتخلل هذه الموضوعات تدريبات عملية مكثفة نفذها المشاركون. وأكدت الإعلامية صفاء فيصل على أنه بالرغم من أن الصحافة الاستقصائية صعبة وتستغرق الكثير من الوقت والجهد لكن العائد منها يكون مثمرا للغاية ويساهم في الحد من ظاهرة  الفساد".

أضــف تعليقك

الانشطة

دور الإعلام فى مكافحة الفساد المهارات المطلوبة

19 أغسطس 2014

  في إطار جهود مركز العقد الاجتماعي في مكافحة الفساد وإيمانه بدور الإعلام في الحد ... المزيد

الهيئات الرقابية.. تداخل الأختصاصات وتشابك السلطات

14 أبريل 2014

  نظم مركز العقد الاجتماعي مائدة حوار بعنوان "الهيئات الرقابية: تداخل الاختصا... المزيد

الصحافة الاستقصائية ودورها فى مكافحة الفساد

20 أكتوبر 2014

  تأتي هذه الورشة التدريبية إيمانا من المركز بدور الإعلام في الحد من انتشار الفساد... المزيد

الحوكمة الرشيدة في التعليم- دور المجتمع المدني

16 سبتمبر 2014

نظم مركز العقد الاجتماعي –  مركز المعلومات ودعم اتخاذ القرار، مجلس الوزراء &... المزيد

ورشة عمل تقييم هيئة الخبراء الوطنيين الخاص بتنفيذ مصر لآليه استعراض اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد

30 يوليو 2013

نظم مركز العقد الاجتماعى التابع لمركز المعلومات ودعم اتخاذ القرار بمجلس الوزراء ورشة عم... المزيد

الإصـــدارات

مكتبة الفيديـــو

ألبـــوم الصـــور

الشركـــاء

Site Requires